Raising a kid

At the age of two and a half, it is more important for my child to be happy and cheerful. Reading a book by himself can all be done later. I have created a healthy environment for him to play and do things on his own. When he feels like reading and brings a book to me, as naturally as I could, with a smile I say, ‘Go to Appa, baby.’ This is what a mom does after cooking. If you are going to roll your eyes at me-go shove it.

Why force a child to sit in a place and write the letter A when I am happier seeing my son doodling using colours and crayons and whatever he can lay his hands on. The semi-circle ‘butterfly’ and a few straight lines ‘car’ is all we need for a happy afternoon. Yup, that purple ‘butterfly’ and blue ‘Ford’ is on my fridge. 🙂

He can sing more nursery rhymes than all the adults could in the family. He could mimic the rhymes and ‘act’ like the characters. However, the boy sings one Tamil song, and all hell breaks lose*. He is musically inclined and I am happy this is one way he could grasp the language. Tata ingge vaa (later corrected to Tata ingge vaange)-his first spoken Tamil was divine to my ears. No, called it Amirtham-I can be overdramatic at times too. 😛

*like I care.

Leave a Reply

